Wandering by the Lamp-post.

I feel as if I’ve been thrust through the wardrobe, trekking my way into Narnia, a land I’ve never seen before. A land full of wonder and excitement. A land full of danger and intrigue, waiting by the Lamp-post for a faun to come guide me…

I’ve been diving into some research lately. Digging around looking for information on this enigmatic publishing industry. It’s a completely different world to me. I’m an extroverted introvert, I’m a writer, I’m a thinker. But I’m very much not a business-person. I don’t know the ins and outs of selling myself, and the intricacies of social media. Literary agents, queries, platforms. A mouthful of jargon I know so little about.

 I write stuff. Stuff that feels right. Stuff that makes sense. Stories that need telling. I love it. It makes me happy, and life never feels more right when I do these things. Words on a page are my passion. Pouring them out as I receive them from…wherever it is these things come from. So how do I learn to sell myself? Sell the story? 

It has been daunting. I’ve known I wanted to be a writer for years and years. I’ve written for longer. Stories have always been my lifeblood. Here I am, at what I feel is a crux, a turning point. It’s incredible. It’s terrifying. I do hope it gets easier. And that I feel a little bit less lost after this first one.

I don’t know what will happen. I do know that whatever does, I will write. I will keep writing. Always. 

It will not go out of my mind that if we pass this post and lantern, either we shall find strange adventures or else some great changes of our fortunes.” – Lucy Pevensie in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

