A picture I found on Tumblr….and it made me think…

lifeboats:
“x
”
I don’t know why, but this makes me think of people.
Somebody made this. Put effort into designing it, arranging every piece of wood and all the bits and pieces holding it together. Somebody painted it. Put little touches here and...

 

I don’t know why, but this makes me think of people.

Somebody made this. Somebody put effort into designing it, arranging every piece of wood and all the bits and pieces holding it together. Somebody painted it and put little touches here and there to show their love and zest in it, like the little handprint on the right. They bestowed it with character. With an identity. With beauty. Over time it has decayed. It has fallen apart in places. It’s still beautiful, just in a different way.

It doesn’t need to be how it always was, because it can still be beautiful in a different way. But if it isn’t taken care of, eventually it will all fall apart and crumble into that water. It will still be there, but lost under that placid surface.

We’re all people (I think…). And this makes me think about how people are. I don’t want you to crumble and fall apart. I want you to be beautiful. Not the beautiful you think you have to be. Not the beautiful that somebody else wants you to be. I want you to be the beautiful that only you can be. There’s only one person who can be that kind of beautiful. You.

So take care of yourself. Find people who will help take care of you. And help you take care of you. Because I don’t want you to be utterly shattered and buried underneath the placid surface of a lake. Buried where nobody will see you. Forgotten.

Be beautiful. That means take care of yourself. You’re worth it. If people don’t help you, forget them. Nobody has time to be destroyed. We only get to do this once. (Unless you are a cat, then I apologize, and you can get destroyed eight times before you really need to be concerned.)

But in all seriousness. I admire your beauty. I don’t even necessarily know you. I don’t need to. Appreciate that beauty. Don’t let yourself crumble away.

Take care of you. You are beautiful.

I mean it.

Leave a Reply

